Everyone’s Talking

So, every day I check a list of news sites and blogs to get up to speed on the goings-on of the world. Over the past few days I have noticed a major increase in articles relating animal production to greenhouse gases. Also, I’ve been sent emails, from family and DawnWatch, stressing those points. I guess what confuses me is that we have known about this for a long time. Granted the study the UN came out with, showing that meat production releases 18% more greenhouse gases than all transporation combined, has been fairly recent. Anyway, I wanted to get my two cents into the conversation since it seems to have become such a hot topic.

I was sent this little nugget of information. It states,

2.2lb of beef is responsible for greenhouse gas emissions which have the same effect as the carbon dioxide released by an ordinary car travelling at 50 miles per hour for 155 miles, a journey lasting three hours. The amount of energy consumed would light a 100-watt bulb for 20 days.

…Some trivia for you.

For a complete look at the issues, check out my guest posts over at ThrillingHeroics where I wrote a two part series on veganism and sustainability.

Leave a Reply

